New Year’s Resolutioning

My plan had been to go to Panera sometime during the last week and brainstorm the heck out of this past year and next. I had a fair idea of the nature of the resolutions I wanted to make, as I had developed the slogan “2012: Year of Wellness” at least a month ago. However — and this was so typical of 2011 — I never got out of the house. And I certainly can’t think IN the house.  So last night I made a stab at the whole thing, but fell quickly and irrevocably asleep, as always happens when I am seated. So now, in the spirit of new beginnings, I have decided that I am not going to see this as my first failure of 2012, but as an indicator that this is going to take some time and some more work if I want to get it right. So I hereby declare January 2012 the month of resolution-making!!

I do know two resolutions right off the bat, though, that I’ll share today:

1. Make a “clutter-buster” chart on which I document some small step toward decluttering that I take each day. An awesome friend sent me the book Clear Your Clutter with Feng Shui, and this book will be my guide, as it has already proven inspirational in the past.

2. Break the “ugly language” habit. I’ve done it before, and I will do it again.

My fitness goals and other life goals are murkier, so that’s what I’ll be clarifying over the next month. Last year was all about pushing myself beyond all human limitations and endurance and then taking it  a step further, so any resolution that stays away from that mentality will be an improvement.

Leave a Reply

