The Nature of Obsession

I have been trying to learn a little bit about obsession as a disorder as I fight a couple obsessions of my own, and what I have gleaned thus far is that you need to continually redirect your attention from the object of your obsession, so as to starve it and eventually kill it. The problem I am having is that the object of my obsession brings me a feverish kind of happiness, and I don’t want to give that up, even to avoid the pain it brings too. The human condition? That kind of undertaking seems perfect fodder for a New Years’ Resolution. Otherwise, I may end up like Howard Hughes, who became so enslaved to his ever-growing horde of obsessions that he became unable to function.

Leave a Reply

